Pin It

More, more, more 

Clubs, festivals and other useful knowledge

ATLANTA'S BEST MUSIC VENUES

10 High, 816 N. Highland Ave., 404-873-3607, www.10high.net. The perfect basement space to see your friend's band play its first gig.

Chastain Park Amphitheatre, 4469 Stella Drive, 404-233-2227, www.atlantaconcerts.com. The best -- and (we hope) only -- outdoor venue for the wine-and-cheese set.

The Earl, 488 Flat Shoals Ave., 404-522-3950, www.badearl.com. A self-consciously chic spot to grab a great burger with your college rock.

Earthlink Live, 1374 W. Peachtree St., 404-885-1163, www.earthlinklive.com. An intimate venue with a great sound system and, alas, few bookings.

Echo Lounge, 551 Flat Shoals Ave., 404-681-3600, www.echostatic.com/echolounge. Obscure indie rock in an authentic warts-and-all setting.

Eddie's Attic, 515-B N. McDonough St., Decatur, 404-377-4976, www.eddiesattic.com. Best place to lie about having seen India.Arie and John Mayer "back in the day."

Hifi Buys Amphitheatre, 2002 Lakewood Way, 404-627-5700, www.hob.com/venues/concerts/hifibuys. Warm weather home-away-from-home for the mulleted, tattooed and pierced set.

Philips Arena, One Philips Drive, 404-878-3000, www.philipsarena.com. Squint hard enough, and you might catch a glimpse of Creed on stage.

Smith's Olde Bar, 1580 Piedmont Road, 404-875-1522, www.smithsoldebar.com. Cozy (but not too cozy) upstairs venue for catching homespun touring acts and local alt-country bands.

Tabernacle, 152 Luckie St., 404-659-9022, www.atlantaconcerts.com. A former church and former House of Blues, where music fans congregate to see the Next Big Thing.

Variety Playhouse, 1099 Euclid Ave., 404-524-7354, www.variety-playhouse.com. This former movie theater offers mature, rootsy-eclectic fare.

ATLANTA MUSIC FESTIVALS

Atlanta Black Music Festival, October, Sweet Auburn area, www.atlantablackmusicfestival.com. A celebration of African-American contributions to jazz, blues, hip-hop, etc. -- featuring entertainment on three stages.

Atlanta Celtic Festival, May 17-18, Oglethorpe University, atlanta.celticfestival.org. This year's lineup includes the Elders, Hadrian's Wall, Isla and more.

Atlanta Fest, June 18-21, Six Flags Over Georgia, www.atlantafest.com. This year's Christian rock/pop showcase features Sixpence None the Richer, Jars of Clay, Audio Adrenaline and more.

Atlanta Jazz Festival, May, various locations, www.atlantafestivals.com. More than 100 acts grace various stages around town, with a concert finale at Piedmont Park Memorial Day Weekend.

Atlantis Music Festival, July 30-Aug. 2, various clubs around town, www.atlantismusic.com. Atlantis features largely independent acts -- many based in and around Atlanta -- covering rock and a mix of genres.

Atlanta Pride Festival, June 27-29, Piedmont Park, www.atlantapride.org/festival/index.cfm. Celebrating the lifestyle of a significant Atlanta demographic, this event will be one of many held around the world on this weekend; it includes a parade and live entertainment.

Decatur Arts Festival, May 24-25, Decatur Square, www.decatur-ga.com/decaturartsalliance/arts.index.html. This celebration of all things creative culminates in a Sunday night concert.

Dogwood Festival, April 12-13, Piedmont Park, www.dogwood.org. You just missed it this year, but the Dogwood Festival features more than 50 local and national performers.

Downtown Rocks, Friday nights in summer, Centennial Olympic Park, www.99x.com. 99X touched off a battle of free open-air concerts last year by introducing this alternative to On The Bricks, running simultaneously and basically in OTB's personal space.

Great Atlanta Pot Festival, April 20, Piedmont Park, www.millionmarijuanamarch.com/local.htm. Flex your activist muscle while enjoying live music from rap, reggae and rock acts -- all in the name of a plant.

Harvest Moon Blues Fest, Aug. 29-31, Georgia International Horse Park, www.harvestmoonblues.com. This three-day event typically draws fans from more than 30 different states, and acts from across America.

Laughing Pepper Music Festival & Chili Cookoff, April 26, Georgia International Horse Park, www.laughingpepper.org. Harvest Moon's sister celebration is also a benefit to support Atlanta's progressive radio station, WRFG-FM.

Montreux Atlanta Music Festival, late August/early September, Piedmont Park, www.atlanafestivals.com. This 10-day event features a variety music spanning rock, blues, jazz, soul and world beat.

Music Midtown, May 2-4, Piedmont Park, www.musicmidtown.com. Every year for the last nine, Piedmont Park has welcomed artists from throughout the country to perform in Atlanta. This year's 10th anniversary edition welcomes 120 acts to 11 stages.

On The Bricks, Friday nights in summer, Centennial Olympic Park, www.onthebricks.com. Centennial Olympic Park comes alive with concertgoers relishing the chance to see well-known national acts play for them free of charge.

Soul Food and Music Festival, late September, Turner Field, soulfoodfest.tripod.com. While the food is the main attraction, the event also includes three evenings of music -- one night each dedicated to jazz, R&B and oldies, and gospel and blues.

Sweet Auburn Spring Fest, April 25-27, several locations around Auburn Avenue, www.sweetauburn.com. This seasonal event celebrates one of Atlanta's most historic areas, delivering three days of continuous entertainment -- from R&B to blues to spoken word -- on 10 stages.

LOCAL MUSIC ONLINE

Atlanta Blues Society, www.atlantablues.org What do you find here? The blues, of course.

Atlanta Music Guide, www.atlantamusicguide.com News on local Atlanta artists, concert information, and features on music coming to and out of Atlanta.

Atlanta Concert and Venue Listing, www.atlantashows.com Concert and venue listings for local artists, with a featured artist that rotates periodically.

Atlantis Music Conference, www.atlantismusic.com/showcase.htm The event is a chance for the South to showcase its homegrown talent. As such, the showcase page is a nice collection of links to local artist websites.

Atlanta Musician, www.atlantamusician.com A one-stop shop for the fledgling band's needs: CD duplication services, merch, manufacturing, artist registry, etc.

Earplugs for Atlanta, www.degeneratepress.com/earplugs A comprehensive glossary of reviews on Atlanta acts, along with selected releases organized by band.

Local Music Directory, www.linksmanager.com/lmd/links8.html Like the name says, it's a directory of 65 Atlanta bands and has an alphabetized list of links to individual band pages.

Lunar Magazine, www.lunarmagazine.com Atlanta's underground electronica/DJ/dance scene is summarized, reported on and reviewed here.

SLABmusic, www.slabmusic.com Features include: a searchable database of bands from all over the Southeast based on genre; a radio station that streams local music: and a section where you can find band members and gigs.

  • Pin It

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Cover Story

02/26/2015

Search Events

Recent Comments

© 2015 Creative Loafing Atlanta
Powered by Foundation