Vijay Iyer Trio: Accelerando 


Fresh off a wave of overwhelming critical love for his last outing, the searing Historicity, Bay Area pianist Vijay Iyer once again convened his Trio (Stephan Crump on bass, the transcendental Marcus Gilmore on drums) for Accelerando, an album similarly hued but also deeply singular. Iyer's ongoing achievement is that he manages to create lasting emotional connections from such purportedly methodical material. Once again, many of the group's source material seem severely left-field, at least for a jazz combo - Michael Jackson's "Human Nature" gets the fractured Iyer treatment, as does Flying Lotus' "Mmmhmm," which the trio transforms into a gorgeous, skittering ballad. Meanwhile, at less than three minutes, the hyperactive title track is one of Iyer's most captivating compositions; the halting, computerized beat that starts it off is quickly overtaken by the organic sound of a group preternaturally locked in, led by one of the most fascinating and unique composers around. (5 out of 5 stars)


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Album Reviews

More by Gabe Vodicka

Bye-bye Airbnb?
Bye-bye Airbnb?

Search Events

  1. Imagine all the people

    Iris EDM fest returns to look beyond the club
  2. Hendrix in the South 1

    Newly unearthed footage gives Atlanta Pop Festival props
  3. Kacey Musgraves minds her biscuits

    Small town cowgirl takes ‘Pageant Material’ on the road

Recent Comments

  • Re: Hendrix in the South

    • i dubbed the alan douglas produced at the atlanta pop fest on vhs (back in…

    • on August 26, 2015
  • Re: Tracklist: Avril's Lyme disease

    • I've heard about a new ultraviolet machine called the UVLRx that's being used for Lyme…

    • on August 25, 2015
  • Re: Win tickets to ONE Musicfest

    • Nas holding Jesus Christ in a headlock

    • on August 23, 2015
  • Re: Stomp and Stammer turns 17

    • I have seen this homeless looking guy going in to shows for years and he…

    • on August 21, 2015
  • Re: Psycadelik surprises

    • Deerhunter can do no wrong. Hyperbole? Nope!

    • on August 20, 2015
  • More »

© 2015 Creative Loafing Atlanta
Powered by Foundation