Pin It

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

Jones St.' drops today

Lyric Jones' debut album, Jones St. drops today, but the release party isn't happening 'til Saturday, February 18 at Apache Cafe, so you've got a full week-and-a-half to learn it, feel it, and go to the show and sing it back to her.

A few of these songs have already leaked out onto the Internet ("Trapped In The City Lights," "Gotta Go," "Loss On Repeat"), but in the context of the whole album, Jones' talents come into full view. There's some singing here, and some rapping, detailing the introspective journey of an M.C. on the grind, reaching for a higher playing field by showing off the learned wisdom of an artist who's moved beyond the ranks of a prodigy.

For the release party, a handful of the album's guest voices join Jones on stage, including the one and only J-Live, along with Culture Starter, Stanza, Trackstar the DJ, and your host for the evening, Fort Knox. $10. 10 p.m. Apache Café. 64 3rd St. 404-876-5436.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Crib Notes

More by Chad Radford


Search Events

Search Crib Notes

Recent Comments

  • Re: 9 shows to hit up this weekend — Sept. 12-14

    • Also the Black Madonna - a resident and talent buyer for Chicago's Smart Bar -…

    • on September 12, 2014
  • Re: Win tickets to ONE Musicfest

    • Awww man no more contests for tickets?

    • on September 12, 2014
  • Re: One MusicFest goes big

    • Sounds like he's going to eventually make the "black" Bonnaroo soon enough. Just keep the…

    • on September 10, 2014
  • Re: Meltasia Recap: Day Two

    • It's very easy to insult people's work anonymously. Not to mention, respectable. May I ask…

    • on September 10, 2014
  • Re: Win tickets to ONE Musicfest

    • That is correct! Please send your name and contact info to and we'll get…

    • on September 8, 2014
  • Re: Win tickets to ONE Musicfest

    • He paid homage to the 1982 movie "Wild Style

    • on September 8, 2014
  • More »

© 2014 Creative Loafing Atlanta
Powered by Foundation