Thursday, August 1, 2013

Goodie Mob's 'I'm Set' video goes against the machine

Posted By on Thu, Aug 1, 2013 at 10:12 AM

Lots of shock-and-awe subliminals and innovative editing in this first look from Goodie Mob's forthcoming reunion album, Age Against the Machine. Noisey premiered "I'm Set" on Wednesday, and it's worth the buzz. In the first video Cee Lo, Khujo, Gipp, and T-Mo have appeared in together since the World Party era (circa 1999), they make a grand entrance donning space-age trap suits with fur hoodies. The visuals are plenty trippy, interspersed with shots of explosions, astronauts, war, civil unrest, animals gone wild, and Cee Lo toting a gold-plated AK-47. But it's the conceptual deconstruction and remixing of the song, featuring back-and-forth cuts to unrelated bars in different verses, that makes it feel like an intentional mindfuck. Or a bit of ingenious marketing. Either way, it leaves you wanting to hear more, which is the idea. The latest word on the album release date is still August 27. And here's the complete tracklist, according to HipHopDX:

1. U Don't Know What You Got (Intro)
2. State Of The Art (Radio Killa)
3. Power
4. Silence... .. The New Hate (Interlude)
5. I'm Set
6. Valleujah
7. Pinstripes (feat. T.I.)
8. Special Education (feat. Janelle Monae)
9. Ghost Of Gloria Goodchild
10. Kolors
11. Come As You Are
12. Nexperiance
13. The Both Of Me
14. Balls (Interlude)
15. Amy
16. Understanding
17. Uncle Red's (Interlude)
18. Father Time

Tags: , , , ,


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Crib Notes

More by Rodney Carmichael

Search Events

Search Crib Notes

Recent Comments

© 2016 Creative Loafing Atlanta
Powered by Foundation