Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Atlanta Hawks nominated for inaugural award

Posted By on Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 3:02 PM


The Atlanta Hawks have been nominated for the inaugural 2010 United Nations NGO Positive Peace Award.

If you aren't sure what the award actually is, don't fret—few people do.

Apparently the award recognizes individuals, athletes, sports teams, entertainers and schools around the world for their positive contributions—that's where the description ends.

Further explanation from a press release:

The 2010 Positive Peace Award nominees are judged by the United Nations NGO Voting Academy comprised of highly respected United Nations NGOs, such as Rotary International, Pathways to Peace, and Sister Cities International. The Voting Academy will use an established criteria of a professional sports team’s community involvement and impact on their community to determine this year’s winner.

Still not sure what the award is for?

According to the same release:

Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta nominated the Hawks for the award because of significant contributions the organization has made to lift the spirits of the children at all three of their main hospital campuses. Hawks players and coaches have made numerous visits to the hospitals and the Hawks organization has made financial contributions to build out critical areas of care for their kids including a "Teen Room" and "Activity Center" at Egleston Hospital; an Atlanta Hawks-themed cafeteria at Hughes-Spalding Hospital; and a game room at Scottish Rite Hospital.

“The Atlanta Hawks have been benevolent and caring partners and friends to our non-profit children's healthcare system for years”, said Shelton Stevens, Executive Director - Sports Network at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta. “They have provided resources and support that have lifted the spirits and encouraged the healing of our ill and injured children. We are blessed to have them in our community”.

Other nominees in the professional teams category include the Pittsburgh Steelers, Indianapolis Colts, Texas Rangers, Cleveland Cavaliers, Kansas City Royals, Arizona Diamondbacks, Chicago White Sox, Kansas City Chiefs, Round Rock Express (Minor League Baseball) and Kansas City Wizards (Major League Soccer).

The winner will be announced in early 2011.

Follow SportsLoaf on Twitter


Tags: ,

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Latest in Fresh Loaf

More by Ben Bussard

The Ultimate Doughnut Smackdown
The Ultimate Doughnut Smackdown

Search Events

Search Fresh Loaf

Recent Comments

© 2016 Creative Loafing Atlanta
Powered by Foundation